Posted by: East and West | 2011/12/11

Roasted Brussels Sprouts Salad

I’ve always eaten cabbage. But Brussels sprouts? They weren’t available in the Philippines when I was growing up and one of my first experiences with them after I moved to California was just too…how do I say this…nasally aggressive. Still, after years of hearing about how I should try them, I finally opened my mind and my kitchen to the odiferous mini-cabbage. Our Thanksgiving guests expressed great appreciation and I learned to enjoy a new dish and ingredient. 

 

2 lb small Brussels sprouts
¼ C extra virgin olive oil
Red pepper flakes to taste
Salt and black pepper to taste
¼ C red wine vinegar
2 t honey
4 strips bacon (optional)

Preheat oven or covered grill to 400°F.

Clean and slice Brussels sprout in half. Toss with olive oil, red pepper flakes, salt, and pepper. Spread on a cookie or jelly roll sheet, sliced sides down. Roast in the oven or grill for 20 minutes or until sprouts are caramelized. Remove from the oven or grill and let cool completely.

While sprouts are cooling, fry the bacon until crisp then crumble to bits.

In a small bowl, dissolve the honey in the vinegar. Transfer sprouts to a large bowl. Toss with the honey-vinegar mixture and bacon bits and serve.

Responses

  1. This is a delish, refreshing change from all the highly rich and fatty Holiday foods! Thanks for sharing this.

    • Your comments are much appreciated!

  2. I absolutely love brussel sprouts with bacon!


Leave a Reply

Categories